SA Math Stars Solve and Soar as they Host The Rickards Fall Math Invitational Competition

This past Saturday, November 16, 2019, the SAS Math Department, along with Mu Alpha Theta, hosted the Rickards Fall Math Invitational Competition for the first time on campus.  Rickard’s High School, in Tallahassee, hosts this annual event and with the help of Saint Andrew’s, has expanded the competition to South Florida.  

The SA campus was filled with over 350 students and coaches from 11 different schools, all eager to participate in the individual, team, and open competitions. The competitions included Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2, PreCalculus, Calculus, and Statistics.  Opportunities were available for individual and team competitions (groups of 4 - one per school). Additionally, there were also rounds of mental and speed math, with the sponsors getting involved with these two as well.

Star Saint Andrew’s students Cristi Haley ’23, James Griffin ’22, and Letian “Dennis” Wu ’21 rose to the top in competitions.
  • Cristi Haley placed fifth place in geometry
  • James Griffin placed seventh place in algebra 2
  • Letian Wu won tenth place in calculus. 
  • “Dennis” Letian Wu took third place in the Alpha Open (a tough test consisting of pre-calculus and calculus questions).  
  • Overall, SA placed fourth in the competition! 
“Over 70 competing or volunteering students worked hard to make our first invitational the success that it was,” said Lisa Winer. “Several coaches came up to Saint Andrew’s faculty afterward and commented about how smoothly run the invitational was and that they are looking forward to coming back next year,” she added.  

Saint Andrew’s School offers thanks and applause for the following Scots for their hard work leading up to the competition and with hosting the event on Saturday: 

SA Math Department:
Head of Math Department - Carlton Hock
Mu Alpha Theta Sponsor -  Lisa Winer
Mu Alpha Theta Competitions Manager - Shelly DePalmer
Mu Alpha Theta PreCalculus Coach - Ari Stoler
Mu Alpha Theta Statistics Coach - Eileen Wolfe
Mu Alpha Theta Calculus Coach - Kris McCullough
Mu Alpha Theta Geometry Coach - Elizabeth Pursel
Jennifer Salzano - Math teacher
Dave Fisher - Math teacher
Aida Pozo - Math teacher
Jim Scheidegger - Math teacher
Special thanks to our Upper School Learning Specialist - Beth Nottman

Mu Alpha Theta Officers: Co-Presidents Sydney Hoffman and Connor O’Reilly;   
Vice President of Community Service - Haly Meister; Vice President of Competitions - Rita DiCarlo; Treasurers Blake Birkins and Jeffrey Brover; Secretaries Peter Caragol and Alexa Shumway; Historian - Kayla Kusel 
All of the faculty members who volunteered as proctors.

“This is an endeavor we have wanted to take on for a while, and we are very pleased with the results. It truly was a community event with teachers from all disciplines volunteering their time on Saturday to help proctor tests,” We are also thankful for the generous help from competing schools as they ran some key aspects of the competition,” said Carlton Hock Head of the Math Department. 

About Us

A non-profit, independent, co-educational school for grades Pre-K - 12, Saint Andrew's School is a private day and boarding school located in Boca Raton, educating the best students from across Palm Beach County, Florida, the United States, and throughout the world in the Episcopal tradition.
Copyright © 2019 - Saint Andrew’s School