Saint Andrews School - Home Page >
Academics > Upper School > Honor Societies > The Cum Laude Society
page tools :

The Cum Laude Society

Left to right seated:

Casey Lumia, Alexander Cohen, David Lippman, Cayla Suthumphong, Alice Silberstein, Geraldine Klewes, Catalina Perez, Hannah Coombs, Gabby Carbone, Lily Applefield, Amanda Ager, Lori Ebenstein, Zoe Hernandez, Marissa Kay, Kelsey Janser, Grace Wang, Carla Pinzon, Hannah Zwiebel, Miles Hindin, William Leas, Bobby Rauch


Left to right standing:

Mr. Phil Crangi, Nia Rolle, Ao Dai, Sam Henschel, Christian Pira, Justin Daily, Sam Bennrubi, Brandon Mazzeo, Austin Torretti, Mrs. Anita Orr, Secretary, Ms. Phyllis Merrill, President, Mr. Julian Domenech, Head of the Upper School, Dr. Robert Watson, invited speaker, Mr. Will Moseley, Head of School, Mrs. Bari Attis, Ms. Marilyn Peyton-Corbin, Dr. Beth Lazerick, Trevor Wexner, Orlando Rodriguez, Di Zhu, Vineet Nadkarni, Pieter Clerger, Rachel McKay, Costanza Concetti, Quyen Ha

 Not present: Laura Fawzi

The Cum Laude Society, a national independent school honor society, was established at Saint Andrew's School in 1968. Membership in the Society is the highest academic honor awarded by the school. At commencement, seniors who have been elected to membership are designated as graduating "cum laude," with praise.

Juniors and seniors are elected to membership based upon their academic achievement and good character. Up to 20% of the senior class and 10% of the junior class are eligible for election.

To be considered for membership in the Society, a junior must have spent the entire 10th grade and be in the process of completing the 11th grade at Saint Andrew's School. The juniors elected must have a GPA of at least 4.0. A senior must have spent the entire 11th grade and be in the process of completing the 12th grade at Saint Andrew's and must have a GPA of 3.5 or better. During the election process, the Society may review a student's freshman-year grades or grades earned at another school; however, these grades will not be included in the GPA.

The Cum Laude Society motto includes the Greek words Arete, Dike, Time (Excellence, Justice, Honor). According to the national organization, "The Motto specifies qualities which, ideally, each member of the Society should have as personal goals and should endeavor to encourage in society as well." Therefore, in the election process, a student's honor record at Saint Andrew's School may be reviewed. In addition, juniors or seniors elected to the Society are expected to uphold this motto in order to remain members of the Saint Andrew's School chapter.

The presence of a Cum Laude chapter at a secondary school indicates that superior academic achievement is honored. The Society presently consists of 344 chapters, approximately 24 of which are located in public schools. The remainder are located in independent schools in the United States, Canada, England, France and Spain.

Faculty Contacts: Bari Attis and Phyllis Merrill

< back to page list

Campus Tour

SAS Alma Mater

Recent News

© 2014 Saint Andrew's School | 3900 Jog Road | Boca Raton, Florida 33434 | P 561 210 2000 | F 561 210 2007 | Contact Us | Site Map  Terms and Conditions 
A non-profit, independent, co-educational school for Grades JK - 12, Saint Andrew's School is both a private day and boarding school located in Boca Raton, educating the best students from across Palm Beach County, Florida, the United States, and throughout the world in the Episcopal tradition.

Bookmark and Share
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite